more WHEELCHAIRS……..

(I hope you all have noticed that I managed to sort out a text widget and a photo widget ! Took me all day, but I got there eventually !)

Now, when I had my first hip operation, I decided that I would need a wheelchair to get from a to b. So after having a minor fit at the price of the electric variety of wheelchairs, I went out and got an ordinary fold-up one. Reasonably comfortable, but as I soon discovered, I couldn’t move anywhere unless someone pushed me ! It was fine for moving me from the car to the house and vice-versa, but useless if I wanted to go to the loo and nobody was around ! Anyway, not so vital for the hip as walking is supposed to be good for you !
When I had my left foot done and couldn’t walk and my husband was away working in Tunisia, I had real problems. So next stop was a power chair. ( Dutiful son came over and built the ramps again !) A power chair is like an electric wheelchair on steroids !! I was very soon to discover that it’s seriously fast and responds to the slightest touch. My hands (full of arthritis) are not my most sensitive appendages and I did some very fast rotating on the spot and hurtled into a few walls before getting the hang of it. The speeds seemed to vary from stop to rocket launch mode, but at least I could get around inside the house. My recovery was slow due to my RA and I soon found myself looking out of the window wishing I could get outside. Once again my husband came to the rescue with a Quingo.

Quingo.jpg

 

What’s a Quingo you may well ask ? Well its a five wheeled, battery driven, brilliantly stable mobility scooter which can easily cope with our tiny roads and the grass growing down the middle! It has all the bells and whistles needed to take it on any road around here and the fifth wheel in the middle comes into play if the others tip in any way at all. As its quite large and needed to be indoors when not in use, we had to plug it in down in Pat’s tool shed to keep it charged. This meant that my long suffering son had to come and put more ramps in to get me from inside to outside and then create a path down through the gravel on the driveway to the shed so that I could whizz down on my power chair and get alongside to get from chair to Quingo. Once there I was free as a bird with a range of 80kms before running out of battery and able to walk the dogs all by myself. They soon learned that on hearing a car coming, if they came and sat down beside me they got a treat !! All sorted and my son has now learned that when he takes up the ramps previously installed, he keeps them nice and safe and ready for the next time! Its over 18 months since my right foot was operated on and I’m back walking very slowly with sticks and the various wheelchairs are put away ready for the next time, which I hope will never come !

3 thoughts on “more WHEELCHAIRS……..

Leave a Reply

