WORDS OF WARNING !

I’m not sure if it is pretty standard for every husband of an R.A. sufferer to be constantly issuing words of warning to their wives. Such as ‘don’t walk too far’, ‘be careful with that knife’ and ‘watch that you don’t slip’, etc. etc.  My loved one is always at it or maybe I just need holding back (!), so it was with some touch of glee on my part that he went outside on Wednesday afternoon and fell ass-over-tits in the mud !!
The first I knew about it was a plaintive cry from the kitchen to come and look at his foot, which admittedly did look a bit swollen.  Like every man he refused point blank to go to the doctor, so I put a compression bandage on it and an ice pack and it was agreed that if it was still bad in the morning we would seek medical assistance then.
Morning brought a weary and tetchy husband who had been awake most of the night feeling sore so we set off to drive the 70 mile round trip to Bantry and its new Accident Unit.
I will digress slightly here as you may remember from my last Blog that I had slightly slipped a disc in my back that weekend and was really sore.  Luckily by mid week I was feeling a bit better so it was up to me to drive to Bantry and back.  Me, who hasn’t been allowed to drive more than a couple of miles since my last foot operation two year’s ago ! The road to Bantry from us goes winding up and over 1000 feet through the Healy Pass, plunging down to the sea the other side of the peninsula and eventually links up with a main road from Glengarrif to Bantry and we made it to the hospital with no more exciting events – in fact I think I drove rather well !

images-2.jpeg
The Healy Pass road

The new Accident Unit at the hospital is very nice indeed.  Small but adequate and ultra efficient.  Pat was taken off to Xray upon arriving and the doctor pronounced that he had not one, but two broken bones in his foot and the possibility of a torn ligament.  He expertly put a light plaster on it and made an appointment for Pat to go to the Fracture Clinic at Cork University Hospital this coming Thursday as they have no MRI machine at Bantry.  So he was put in a wheelchair and taken back to the car and home we came again.
So now we were suddenly presented with a whole change of precedents.  The carer had become the patient and the patient had become the carer – and, of course, the cook/housekeeper/dog walker as well.  Luckily I still have my Quingo and can walk the dogs using that. In fact I rather enjoy getting out on it and going to places my useless legs won’t walk to!  Cooking I can manage blindfolded, though I must admit it has been rather nice having someone doing all the cooking for me over the last two years, but housework I find exhausting and am ready to go and lie down after ten minutes of hoovering!
So I’m finding out now just how well Pat has been looking after me and I fear he rather expects me to reciprocate !  On day 2 he was ‘bored’ with sitting around and my offer to let him use my painting gear was met with derision, so how does one entertain a man who is forced to sit still and where do I find the energy from to become Superwoman ??
I am so looking forward to the 180 mile round trip to Cork on Thursday and sitting around in the Fracture Clinic for hours on end – I don’t think !  So I have made myself a hair appointment and shall probably need just a touch of retail therapy to get my legs moving again before the return journey, so maybe all is not lost after all, though I wonder if I too shall resort to words of warning over the next few weeks in my new role as carer !!

images-3.jpeg
View from the Healy Pass

2 thoughts on “WORDS OF WARNING !

  1. Hi Sally: First — what a beautiful part of the world you live in! I love the pictures you share. But more to the point — aren’t men just the worst patients? They get a case of the sniffles and you’d swear they’re dying of pneumonia and become completely helpless. My husband tends to be a “helicopter” spouse like yours, always cautioning me to be careful and becomes super nurse when I have surgery or am otherwise not feeling well. Unfortunately for him, the few times he gets sick, I tend to email him a picture of two aspirins and tell him to call me in the morning. Congratulations on making that drive! Hugs from across the pond.

    Like

  2. Thanks Carla, Love the email idea – shall use that another time ! At the moment he’s been told that he has to be non-wsweight-bearing for another FIVE weeks ! I look on it as a chance for him to use all my mobile devices from my foot operations !!!
    Keep in touch ! Sally

    Like

Leave a Reply

