LATE AGAIN !!

Here I am, at last, late again for publishing my Blog – for which, many apologies. I really have had the most hectic week with Himself in plaster and whizzing about in my Power Chair and generally improving, so I decided that the moment had come to get my second book “Butterfly Summer” out to some publishers.
It was sitting, almost finished except for the index, on my old IMac in a publishing file called IWeb. Never heard of that – well, neither had Apple ! I actually started writing it in 2005 and finished it (almost) in 2006, just before I got my Hip Replacement. This and following numerous operations for my Rheumatoid Arthritis took up the next ten years of my life and were not conducive to writing books ! So now I am two years after my last foot operation and getting on with my Blog, I thought to myself “why not finish it” and get it out to some publishers ? Little did I know that in the intervening years, Apple had got rid of IWeb and not replaced it with anything else. The app only gives you the choice of putting it on line (which has now gone!) or publishing it to a folder. Hooray I thought, I’ll do that. A million (slight exaggeration ) tries later, I still could not get it to move the files and the photos – of which there are many – to a flash drive so as to put it on my new IMac for final editing.
These attempts, (combined with much swearing and cursing), eventually worked, but I tried so often that I can’t remember how I did eventually do it !! So then I put the flash drive into my new iMac and it put all the words in a sort of porridge-like confusion into Pages, with no photos, of course !
What to do ? My new IMac doesn’t have Microsoft Word for Mac which the old computer did have and which I had managed to put the contents of the flash drive on. So I rang up Apple and ordered the new Microsoft Word for Mac for €150 and they told me the relevant download codes would be emailed to me. Wonderful, I thought. No email arrived, but a Shipping Order to say they had shipped it to me. Why ship a code which will take at least a week, when it could be emailed I asked another kindly soul at Apple through gritted teeth ? Well, it’s because it’s Microsoft and Apple don’t like each other and refuse to email it apparently, so I still haven’t got the download codes as I’m waiting for UPS to deliver them – though it has got as far as Dublin they tell me ……… only another 300 miles to go !!
So with all this going on I didn’t write my Blog. I didn’t even finish writing the index to my book as I can’t be bothered to try and remember how to put it on the flash drive….. who needs an index anyway ? I’m downhearted and fed up with the whole shooting match and I still have to find all the photos and download them separately on to my flash drive…Gggrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr !
Mind you it has taken my mind off my RA which is a plus !
Hopefully back to normal next week……..

Leave a Reply

