ON THE UP AND UP !

Life, for once, is on the up and up ! Last week I had this brilliant idea (I thought) for doing a survey of RD Medications and treatments as there seem to be so many out there and received quite a good response – thanks Carla !  But it seems as though the various RA/RD organisations were not at all happy with me doing this.  I got threatened with everything from Data Protection to having my Blog taken down…….whoa !  So it seems it is not to be.  I got really mad for a while and said I would finish my Blog, but was talked down by Pat and various other friends and relatives, so bye-bye survey and back to the Galloping Grandma.
Having been really down and despondent, Life as usual rocked the other way by first Pat getting out of plaster and getting over his broken leg really quickly and also Cooper (our labrador) getting over his knee replacement really quickly – oh how I wish mine had been as fast !!  But he’s not supposed to bounce or run for another four weeks, but nobody seems to have told him that !!
As I write, Pat is way up country in Galway doing his Skipper’s course so I am left to fend for myself – something I did for many years whilst he worked away.  Getting the socks on and shoes laced took a bit of contortion, but I eventually managed it and tomorrow my son Jason will be over to start work on the boat again.
What we plan is to use The Rosa – a Newfoundland Dory, restored and rebuilt by Jason, to do scenic and fishing trips from our local harbour down the road on the Beara Peninsula.  We first have to get licensed by The Department of the Marine and with this licence we can get our insurance for the boat and passengers.  Firstly though we have to get the boat weighed and this has to be done when she is lifted out of the shed by a teleporter with special scales on it than can weigh up to five tons and then put carefully on to her boat trailer.  All being well we will then take her down to the slipway and launch her for her sea trials. She has been in the sea before, but she had a really ropey engine that kept cutting out and overheating, so I donated my ‘going to Australia’ fund to buy a new, reconditioned engine which should work wonderfully !  Fingers crossed and I shall keep you informed of her progress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Rosa

 
The lovely Spring weather has helped lift my gloom and I am making the most of the Vitamin D provided by the sunshine.  Also I’ve heard from lots of friends who will be visiting us again this year and it will be great to see them all.  Whilst I really appreciate time on my own when I can go and lie down if needs be anytime I want, I really love seeing friends and finding out what they have all been up to, even though I get stressed and sore. It’s worth it !  We are not planning any holidays this year, but when you live in such a wonderful, scenic part of Ireland and right by the sea, it hardly seems worth the trouble !!  But I hope all of you will get planning what to do to spoil yourselves, be it with a holiday or just having friends visit and feel the rush of those positive endorphins. I certainly shall !

 

 

 

One thought on “ON THE UP AND UP !

  1. So thrilled that things are truly on the mend, but totally bummed about the survey. I am happy to share my data. It’s published as a separate page on my blog — mainly so my doctors and I can access it easily. But I guess it’s not to be. Perhaps you could do “guest interviews” like fellow blogger Mariah does on http://www.fromthispointforward.com and let people individuals share their story directly. And there’s no problem providing links to public information like the .pdf of biologics I sent you. I just hate to see your really brilliant idea get so squashed! Congratulations on the Rosa!

    Like

Leave a Reply

