FOOTLOOSE !

I think at one stage I was the Imelda Marcos of Kerry ! Shoes of all differing sizes and shapes littered our floor and all because of my RA/RD. Some of you will already know that I had to have both feet operated on and titanium implants inserted.
My trouble began when my increasingly sore left foot suddenly brought me to an abrupt halt with so much pain that I couldn’t walk on it. An Xray revealed that I had a broken metatarsel, but none of the doctors in Cork or Kerry would do anything about it and kept referring me back to my GP.   18 months passed and I still had the broken foot but had learned that it was as a result of my left knee replacement being botched the year before. In desperation my husband bought me some walking boots so I could at least hobble around and I decided to change my rheumatologist who didn’t seem to care in the slightest that I had a broken foot and so I picked the top rheumatologist in Dublin and she put me on to the top foot surgeon there. In fact she refused to treat me until I had seen him !  Progress at long last!
So it was first the left foot and this followed a year later by the right with my feet bolstered with wire and pins and titanium, some of which still remain in there ! But the outcome is brilliant – some two years later I can walk without pain and, more to the point, the swelling in my feet has gone down at long last !
During this three and a half years I had the problem (when not in a wheelchair) of what to put on my feet, or rather ‘foot’.  I had one two sizes larger than the other due to swelling and my foot surgeon saying that I should wear supportive shoes, preferably boots !  This meant me first of all wearing my husband’s boot on one foot and a completely different boot on the other and hoping that nobody would notice ! OK in winter, but as summer came on I was buying two pairs of identical runners, one for one foot and one for the other ! As the left foot got slowly better, the right one was going downhill and swelling ! So now I had another problem. I had the alternative boot/shoe to change them around, but the left foot was still a size larger than I had started off with………..so what to do but buy some shoes in the intermediate size. My shoe collection was expanding and in exasperation I confronted my lovely foot surgeon with my dilemma.
He said the answer for me was FITFLOPS (not flip-flops) sandals with rollerball technology and they are just about the most comfortable shoes I have ever worn.  Being sandals they took care of the difference in foot size and I was delighted to find that they had a huge selection, even glittery ones !  I’m not sure if you can get them in Australia but you certainly can in Europe and the USA and I have bought all mine on line, so its definitely worth a try ! Now some two years after my right foot operation I am walking along totally pain free.  My muscles are a touch sore after having to sit down for so long in a wheelchair, but I am walking a bit further every day and what is even better – both feet are at last the same size !!
The moral of this story is, if your feet are hurting you, go get something done about them. The answer is out there !

http://www.fitflop.com/en/womens/ for the USA

http://www.fitflop.eu/ for Europe

HAPPY PAIN-FREE WALKING TO YOU ALL !

3 thoughts on “FOOTLOOSE !

Leave a Reply

